The Wayne County Historical Society announces that the Main Museum and Research Library, 810 Main…[...]
- Donate Today!
- Online Gift Shop
Welcome to the Wayne County Historical Society, home of the full-size replica of the Stourbridge Lion, the first locomotive to run on commercial track in the United States.
Our main museum and museum shop are housed in a building built in 1860 as headquarters of the Delaware & Hudson Canal Company. The D & H Gravity Railroad, which carried anthracite coal from the mines of Lackawanna County to Honesdale, met the D & H Canal directly behind the building. The canal carried the coal from Honesdale to Rondout, New York, on the Hudson River.
The Marjorie Smith Gallery connects the 1860 building with the Jason Torrey land office, headquarters of one of the county's earliest entrepreneurs. Four additions built to house our expanding collections and research library complete the 810 Main Street complex in Honesdale.....continue reading.
The Museum at Wayne County Historical Society on Main Street in Honesdale,…
This one-room country school on Bethel School Road near the Poor Farm is…
The D&H Canal Park at Lock 31 has 16 beautiful acres to explore. The site…
Built in 1859, this squat stone edifice housed Wayne County's miscreants…
A Day in the Life of a Farm, Wayne County Agriculture: 1870-1930 is the…
The Adam Jubinsky Museum was established via contributions donated by Mr.…