- Donate Today!
- Online Gift Shop
Milanville The land for this church was donated by the Skinner family who were among the area's first settlers. The first trustees were: Rev. Joseph Coleman, Milton Skinner, William Pulis, George Tyler, and Rockwell Brighman. It was chartered as the Milanville Methodist Episcopal Church; today it is the Milanville United Methodist Church. Its cornerstone and original deed are dated 1910. This picturesque country church has twenty-five pews, wainscoted walls, and the original tin-plated ceiling. The altar's stained glass windows were dedicated by Rev. William Lewis, and each one contains a scripture reference. The Epworth League donated the altar's main stained glass window. The building's six arch-shaped stained glass windows were donated in honor or in memory of the following: Edna Beegle, Mary Orr Illman and Merlin Illman, W.C. Dillmuth and family, the Rolston family, Heli Skinner, and James Hull. Services are held two Sundays each month, with the Rev. Debra Vandermark-Dailey serving as the minister. Milanville, which is located along the Delaware River, had for over one hundred years sent rafts of lumber down the river to Philadelphia. At one time the area was a thriving community of farms, saw-mills, gristmills, a tannery, and a chemical company. These businesses no longer exist; today the Delaware River attracts vacationers.
From 1993 through 2008 the Honesdale National Bank published an annual wall calendar, each featured 13 historic sites. The sites were chosen and researched by a committee of the historical society and artwork was commissioned to Judy Hunt and William Amptman by the bank.
This page was one month of the calendar and was made possible through the Wayne County Commissioners and a Tourism Promotion Committee’s Tourism Grant.