- Donate Today!
- Online Gift Shop
Newfoundland The history of the Newfoundland Moravian church began in 1828 when fifteen families from southwestern Germany, members of the state church of Germany, purchased 1,871 acres in what was then called "Beechwood" or "Dutch Flats," and today is known as Newfoundland. From 1828 until 1837 religious services were held in the settlers' homes. In 1836 Moravians in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. raised money to construct a church for their fellow countrymen in Newfoundland, and the official organization of the Moravian church was August 13, 1837. The first church was replaced in 1853 with the one pictured, and construction was completed in 1908. A fellowship hall was added in the rear of the church building in 1998. The Newfoundland Moravian church has unique architectural features. In front of the side-gabled roof there is a square steeple and a low-pitched gabled facade with detailed trusses. The facade is further enhanced with two small arched stained-glass windows symmetrically placed on either side of the large pointed arch triple windows.
From 1993 through 2008 the Honesdale National Bank published an annual wall calendar, each featured 13 historic sites. The sites were chosen and researched by a committee of the historical society and artwork was commissioned to Judy Hunt and William Amptman by the bank.
This page was one month of the calendar and was made possible through the Wayne County Commissioners and a Tourism Promotion Committee’s Tourism Grant.